The following table outlines the equivalences for each phase of the British and Spanish education systems:
Years on Entry British System Sistema Español
3 Years Foundation Stage Nursery 1º Infantil 2º Ciclo de Educación Infantil Educación Infantil (Voluntario)
4 Years Reception 2º Infantil
5 Years Primary KS1 Year 1 3º Infantil
6 Years Year 2 1º Primaria 1º Ciclo EPO Educación Primaria Obligatoria
7 Years KS2 Year 3 2º Primaria
8 Years Year 4 3º Primaria 2º Ciclo EPO
9 Years Year 5 4º Primaria
10 Years Year 6 5º Primaria 3º Ciclo EPO
11 Years Secondary KS3 Year 7 6º Primaria
12 Years Year 8 1º ESO Educación Secundaria Obligatoria Educación Secundaria
13 Years Year 9 2º ESO
14 Years KS4 Year 10 3º ESO
15 Years Year 11 4º ESO
16 Years Sixth Form KS5 Year 12 1º Bachillerato Bachillerato
17 Years Year 13 2º Bachillerato